Timeline and Selection Process

Teaching Awards 2021 Timeline

Date specified by respective FTECs 
Eligible faculty candidates will submit their application and documentation to their respective FTECs 

30 October 2020

FTECs will submit selected applicants’ submissions, FTEC reports and cover letter to UTEC c/o CDTL

November - December 2020

Evaluation of applicants’ submissions by UTEC Interview of shortlisted OEA applicants by UTEC

December 2020 – Jan 2021

UTEC deliberates and finalises reports for Office of the Senior Deputy President and Provost

February 2021

Approval of OEA, ADEA & ATEA recommendations by Office of the Senior Deputy President and Provost

Approval of OEA recommendations by the President

April/May 2021 (tentative)

University Awards Ceremony 2021

November 2021 (tentative)

Annual Teaching Awards Ceremony and Outstanding Educator Award (OEA) Public Lectures 2021

Selection Committee

The committees involved in the selection of Outstanding Educator Awards/Annual Teaching Excellence Awards are:

Faculty Teaching Excellence Committee (FTEC)

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
A/P Loy Hui Chieh (Chairperson)
A/P Lim Wee Hun, Stephen
Dr Gilbert Yeoh
A/P Chris McMorran
Mrs Chen Ing Ru

School of Business
A/P Liu Qizhang (Chairperson)
A/P Chen Renbao
Ms Huan Li Yueh, Julie
A/P Charles Shi
A/P Ashok Charan
Ms Usa Skulkerewathana

School of Computing
A/P Yu Hai Feng (Chairperson)
Dr Lek Hsiang Hui
Dr Sharon Tan Swee Ling
A/P Hugh Anderson
Dr Zhou Lifeng

Faculty of Dentistry
A/P Wong Mun Loke (Chairperson)
A/P Tan Kai Soo
A/P Keson Tan
Dr Betty Mok

School of Design & Environment
A/P Cheah Kok Ming (Chairperson)
Prof Joseph Ooi (ex-officio)
Prof Low Sui Pheng
Dr Grace Wong
A/P Hans Tan
Dr Lee Jung Joo

Faculty of Engineering
Prof Dipti Srinivasan (Chairperson)
A/P Teo Chiang Juay
A/P Aaron Danner
A/P Alberto Corrias
A/P Chian Siau Chen, Darren

Faculty of Law
Prof David Tan (Chairperson)
Prof Jeffrey Pinsler
A/P Eleanor Wong

Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy
A/P Vu Minh Khuong (Chairperson)
A/P Suzaina Kadir

Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine
Dr Dujeepa D Samarasekera (Chairperson)
Prof Matthew Gwee
Prof Lee Eng Hin
A/P Koh Dow Rhoon
Prof Bay Boon Huat
A/P Wong Mee Lian
A/P Chen Fun Gee
Prof Hooi Shing Chuan
A/P Raymond Seet Chee Seong

Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health
A/P Jeanette Lee
A/P Wong Mee Lian
A/P Alex Cook
A/P Luo Nan
Prof Rob van Dam

Faculty of Science
Prof Sow Chorng Haur (Chairperson)
Prof Goh Say Song (Co-Chair)
A/P Darren Yeo
A/P Kuldip Singh
A/P Jason Yeo 
A/P Chan Lai Wah
Prof Lee Soo Teck
A/P Lim Tiong Wee
Dr Liu Mei Hui

University Scholars Programme
A/P Barbara Ryan (Chairperson)
Dr Leung Wing Sze
Dr Hwang Wei Song
Dr Miguel Escobar Varela

Residential Colleges
A/P Seow Teck Keong (Chairperson)
A/P Reuben Wong
Dr Connor Graham
Dr Lynette Tan
Mr N Sivasothi

Centre for English Language Communication
Ms Lee Gek Ling (Chairperson)
Dr Zhou Ziqian
Dr Fong Yoke Sim

University Teaching Excellence Committee (UTEC)

Prof Ho Teck Hua, Senior Deputy President and Provost – Chair of UTEC
Prof Bernard Tan, Senior Vice Provost (Undergraduate Education)
Prof Tulika Mitra, Vice Provost (Academic Affairs)
A/P Erle Lim Chuen Hian, Vice Provost (Teaching Innovation & Quality)
Prof Farooq Shamsuzzaman (Faculty of Engineering)
A/P Damith Chatura Rajapakse (School of Computing)
A/P Hans Tan (School of Design & Environment)
A/P Kelvin Foong Weng Chiong (Faculty of Dentistry)
A/P Soo Yuen Jien (School of Computing)
A/P Suzaina Bte Abdul Kadir (Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy)
Asst Prof Susan Ang (Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences)
A/P Adrian Michael Lee, (Faculty of Science)
Dr Dujeepa S. Samarasekera, Director (CDTL)