Curriculum Structure

The structure and requirements of the NUS undergraduate curriculum aims to deliver the broad-based, flexible and interdisciplinary learning under the NUS educational framework. The curriculum has three categories of requirements: Common Curriculum, Major/Programme and Unrestricted Elective.

Common Curriculum Requirement


The common curriculum requirement ranges from 10 to 15 courses at various Colleges / Faculties / Schools.  Students of each Faculty/School generally read the same common curriculum, and the common curriculum aims to:

  • cover University level General Education requirements to develop critical core intelligences and 21st century competencies, 
  • integrate and impart essential foundational and professional knowledge and skills for students of the Faculty/School, and 
  • broaden intellectual foundations through for example interdisciplinary or cross-disciplinary education.

Major/Programme Requirement

The major/programme requirement ranges from 15 to 20 courses at various Faculties/Schools. It provides specialised education in a discipline / subject that the student is enrolled in, and includes 'essential' courses covering core knowledge and competencies, and ‘elective’ courses based on the interests, aspirations and specialisation of the student. 

Unrestricted Elective Requirement

These Unrestricted Elective (UE) Requirement allows students to explore greater breadth or depth in any subject and at any level. Students may use these courses to meet the requirements for a specialisation, minor, double major, double degree, or concurrent Bachelor-Master degree.

From AY2020/2021, students can fulfil up to 8 units of the UE requirement through Design Your Own Course (DYOC). DYOC allows students to choose what they want to learn, how they wish to learn, and from whom they wish to learn.