University Awards

University Research Recognition Award

To further translate laboratory discoveries into innovative and effective clinical tools, and continue to develop immunotherapies, widening their application in oncology, and extending their use to other areas of medicine. Prof Dario CAMPANA
PhD (Cum Laude) (University of Milano)
MD (Cum Laude) (University of Torino)
Department of Paediatrics, NUS Medicine
Download Citation
  • Pioneered work on chimeric antigen receptor (CAR)-T cells that has revolutionalised the treatment of acute lymphoblastic leukaemia, the most common form of cancer in children
    • For this discovery, Prof Campana was conferred the international Jacob and Louise Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine in October 2019. The prestigious award recognises scientists in academia, medicine or industry whose work hold outstanding scientific content and significant practical consequences in the biomedical sciences
  • Developed new methods for therapeutic targeting of T-cell leukaemia and lymphoma
  • Developed new methods to increase the anti-cancer capacity of natural killer cells and to engineer immune cells
  • Developed original methods for detecting minimal residual disease in acute lymphoid and acute myeloid leukaemias, and demonstrated their prognostic impact
  • Scientific founder of three NUS spin-out biotechnology companies—MediSix Therapeutics, Nkarta Therapeutics and Unum Therapeutics
  • Discoveries have led to 20 patents and patent applications filed, with 14 licensed to industry
  • Published more than 300 papers, including 67 peer-reviewed articles and 10 book chapters since 2012
  • Obtained more than 35,000 citations (exceeding 15,000 citations in the last five years)
  • Chair, Scientific Advisory Board, Nkarta Therapeutics (since 2016)
  • Reviewer for several leading journals in his research areas, and for funding agencies worldwide
  • Widely sought-after speaker at international seminars and lectures
  • Researcher of the Year, NUS Medicine (2020)
  • Jacob and Louis Gabbay Award in Biotechnology and Medicine (2019)
  • Top 100 – Medicine Maker Power List (2018, 2019 and 2020)
  • Mrs Lee Kong Chian Chair in Advanced Cellular Therapy (2013)
 Honour Roll Recipients