University Awards

Outstanding Service Award

What I find most fulfilling is that NUS has developed a talented community and environment which encourages and enables individuals to excel and create real impact. I am grateful for this prestigious award which recognises this very notable collective achievement. Prof TAN Chorh Chuan
Download Citation
  • Executive Director, Ministry of Health (MOH) Office for Healthcare Transformation
  • Chief Health Scientist, MOH
  • University Professor and Senior Advisor, NUS
  • Member, Board of Directors of Monetary Authority of Singapore; and Mandai Park Holdings
  • Prof Tan served as Director of Medical Services, MOH, from 2000 to 2004, where he was responsible for leading the public health response to the 2003 SARS epidemic
  • As the inaugural Chief Executive of the National University Health System in 2008, he brought the NUS schools of medicine, dentistry and public health, as well as the National University Hospital under a single governance
  • Prof Tan was appointed NUS President (2008-2017); NUS Provost and Senior Deputy President (2004-2008); and Dean of NUS Medicine (1997-2000)
  • First Singaporean to be elected as an international member of the US National Academy of Medicine in 2015
  • NUS’ reputation rose to new heights during Prof Tan’s tenure as President from 2008 to 2017. The pace of developments and new initiatives at the University accelerated: NUS University Town; Yale-NUS College; School of Continuing and Lifelong Education; the new Research Centres of Excellence; Smart Nation Research Cluster; expansion of NUS Overseas Colleges; and growth of the University’s entrepreneurial ecosystem, amongst others
  • Prof Tan was Deputy Chairman of Singapore’s Agency for Science, Technology and Research from 2004 to 2017. He also chaired the CPF Advisory Panel that recommended enhancements to the CPF system
  • Prof Tan was Chair of the World Economic Forum’s Global University Leaders Forum from 2014 to 2016. He was the Chairperson of the International Alliance of Research Universities, a consortium of 10 leading research-intensive universities from 2008 to 2012, and was a member of the Steering Committee of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities
  • Meritorious Service Medal (2015)
  • Asia-Pacific Leadership Award by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (2015)
  • Dr John Yu Medal, George Institute for Global Health, Australia (2012)
  • Honorary Doctor of Medicine, King’s College (2012)
  • Honorary Doctor of Science from Duke University (2011); and Loughborough University (2009)
  • National Science and Technology Medal (2008)
  • Public Administration Medal (Gold) (2004)
  • Public Service Star (2003)
  • Achievement Medal, Singapore Society of Nephrology (2003)
  • Fellow, Singapore National Academy of Science (2016); American College of Physicians (1999); Royal College of Physicians (London) (1998); Academy of Medicine, Singapore (1996); and Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh) (1996)
  • Albert Schweitzer Gold Medal and Elected Fellow, Polish Academy of Medicine (1999)
  • Singapore Youth Award (1996)
 Honour Roll Recipients