History of Eusoff

History of Eusoff

Eusoff Hall, founded in 1988, has its beginning in Eusoff College, the first female residential hall of the University of Malaya in Singapore, at Bukit Timah campus. In November 1958, Eusoff College was officially declared open by Mrs Maude Scott, one of the earliest woman graduates of Raffles College. The very first principal was Dr Ruth Wong while the first President of the JCRC was Ms Ng Kim Lan.

During the decade of the 80s, a number of changes swept through Eusoff College. A 26-year-old tradition was broken when Eusoff went co-educational in 1984. In June 1988, Eusoff Hall at Kent Ridge campus began its operations and was officially opened by the then President Wee Kim Wee on 5 August 1989. It inherited the legacy of the life at Eusoff College, as many of the Eusoff College residents moved to the new Eusoff Hall. Despite the change of name, residents who moved from Eusoff College to Eusoff Hall were determined to carry on with the best traditions of the former.

Eusoff College continued to operate as a postgraduate students' hostel at Evans Road until 2001. After Dr Lim Kit Boey stood down as principal, Professor Lee Kok Onn took over as principal until its closing on the evening of 24 March 2001.


Dato Panglima Kinta Dr Haji Mohamed Eusoff

Eusoff College and Eusoff Hall bear the proud name of Dato Panglima Kinta Haji Mohamed Eusoff, CBE, JP, LLD, Pro-Chancellor of the then University of Malaya in Singapore and Chairman of the University Council from 1953 to 1957. The Hall was named after him in recognition of his outstanding services to education including the important role he played in the Carr-Saunders Commission in the establishment of the very university that he loved.

Dato Eusoff was born in Ipoh in 1897 to a family of traditional Malay chiefs of the Kinta district in Perak. He received his education at the Anderson School in Ipoh before embarking on a career in the Malayan Civil Service, where he served with great distinction. In later life as a leading member of the traditional Malay ruling class, Dato Haji Mohamed Eusoff served as the Panglima Kinta of Perak in 1951. He was also a member of the Perak State Council (1952) and the Perak Council of Regency (1955). Dato Eusoff also held positions on the Ipoh Town Board (1953), was President of the All-Malaya Muslim Missionary Society, the Ipoh Red Cross Society (1955), and also President of the Perak Amateur Athletic Association. His other contributions to society included being a Justice of Peace in Selangor in 1948 and in Perak in 1953.

However, Dato Eusoff's most significant contribution was in education and in the establishment of the University of Malaya in Singapore. He was appointed as the only Malay member of the Carr-Saunders Commission on 'University Education in Malaya' in March 1947, which eventually oversaw the establishment of a university in Singapore. For his efforts, he was inducted into the Court of the University of Malaya at its first meeting in 1949 and subsequently conferred an honorary doctorate in law in 1951. In 1953, Dato Eusoff became the Chairman of the University Council and in 1954 the Pro-Chancellor of the University. He was a strong advocate of an all-rounded education saying often that it was 'life outside the classroom' that enriched the lives of students as much as their academic studies; and that each generation of students should 'contribute something new, challenging and stimulating to the richness and diversity of university life.'

Today, Eusoff College and later Eusoff Hall stand as the only institution that honour the legacy of this great man, and Eusoffians continue to live the philosophies of their namesake. The traditions that he set out for the university as a whole are the traditions that Eusoffians emulate every day.

Principals (Eusoff College) & Masters (Eusoff Hall)

Below are the list of those who served or are serving as Principals of Eusoff College and Masters of Eusoff Hall, leaving behind certain traditions and legacy in their own ways. Their dedication, commitment, and contributions to Eusoff embody the values and ideals of a true Eusoffian. They were responsible for many aspects in the College and Hall, not only administrative and day-to-day matters, but also residents' welfare and many other aspects pertaining to residential life. Indeed, they have directly or indirectly helped to shape and nurture some of the best Eusoffians that we know today. The Eusoff experience would have been vastly different without these individuals:

Principals of Eusoff College

1958-1959 Professor Ruth Wong
1959-1967 Professor Jean Robertson
1967-1972 Dr Nalla Tan
1972-1978 Dr Eileen Aw
1979-1996 Dr Lim Kit Boey
1997-2001 Professor Lee Kok Onn

Masters of Eusoff Hall

1988-2003 Professor Andrew Tay
2003-2013 Associate Professor Tan Tin Wee
2014-2018 Associate Professor Goh Beng Lan
2019- Associate Professor Qiu Anqi